Buoyancy Aid Design - Info Wanted

General slalom chatter...rant about the bad, rave about the good
DaveMassey

Post by DaveMassey » Thu Feb 09, 2006 8:28 am

Hello All,
I am a Product Design Student at Nottm Trent Uni. We have been asked to design a buoyancy aid for slalom canoeists that will give 50N of aid but not get caught on the gates and is a general improvment on what is availaible. I would be most gratefull for your thoughts, suggestions, input etc on any related area (fit, durability temperature, longevity colour....Anything) as i know nothing about the subject. Am planing on going to Stone on the 26th for more research but until then...Help! You can leave a message here or mail me on davmatt@aol.com

Thank you

Dave

Train2Win

Post by Train2Win » Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:05 pm

The most important thing is for a bouancy aid to be inobtrusive and not affect mobility too much. Also its preferable to have it as thin as possible, especially on the chest and back. As for temperature etc. the ranges are moderate so I don't think that's much of an issue. I guess the main improvement slalom paddlers would be looking for would be to get the same bouancy in a smaller, thinner vest.

DaveMassey

Post by DaveMassey » Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:18 pm

Thanks for that. The ICF slalom regs say that the vest should keep the head out of the water, but 50N aids aren't meant to do this(as for as i can tell). Any thoughts?

Post by Guest » Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:52 pm

Definately a small design would be brill, our young paddlers have problems finding a decent slalom vest to fit them.

Canadian Paddler

Post by Canadian Paddler » Thu Feb 09, 2006 5:32 pm

ICF words were (I believe) brought in around teh time of the Harrishok 'Big Boy' when the bouyancy was in the spray deck not on the body. (1980?)