I believe there is some misunderstanding about the catch up rule, many paddlers do not appear to realise that 10.15.2 states that if they miss gates they must not hinder the paddler in front of them. This is something I have always done as a matter of courtesy by stopping before a judge mistakenly whistles at the other paddler and waiting for the gap to be suitable for me to carry on, just as I have when I'm having a bad run and someone is catching me up (it used to happen regularly at HPP).
Perhaps we need to ensure paddlers understand that they need to act fairly in both situations. You know if you have missed gates just as you know if you are having a slow run.
Note: The 'missing gate' paddler is not entitled to a re-run!
General slalom chatter...rant about the bad, rave about the good
2 posts • Page 1 of 1